MyRad Button
Radiation Safety Committees

The use of ionizing radiation at Washington University and the affiliated institutions is regulated by two committees:

(a) The Radiation Safety Committee which has authority over all uses of ionizing radiation at our institution except for the review of human research involving radioactive drugs, and

(b) The Radioactive Drug Research Committee which has authority over human research involving radioactive drugs. Please contact Terry Thurston (314-362-2810 or ) for further information on RDRC submissions.

In addition, the Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) has two active subcommittees that address specific issues.

(a) The RSC Applications Subcommittee meets each week to review applications submitted by research faculty, and

(b) The Positron-Emitting Radionuclides and Cyclotron Safety Subcommittee meets several times a year to review safety issues associated with the use of the four particle accelerators used for the on-site production of radioactive materials.

24-hr Emergency Phone: